Almost Perfect: The 1983 Nebraska Cornhuskers

Dennis Crawford
2 min readOct 17, 2023

--

TO: The 1983 Nebraska Cornhuskers

I have lived in Lincoln most of my life and have been an ardent Nebraska football fan since 1969.

I’m also a semi-retired attorney who has practiced law in the Lincoln area since 1986. In that capacity, I have gotten to know Dan Thayer and Tom Morrow. I have established friendships with these gentlemen over our mutual love for Nebraska football.

I’m now moving on to a new career as an author and historian.

I have been researching a book on the 1983 Nebraska football team. There are several books on the national championship teams in 1970, 1971, 1994, 1995 and 1997. However, there are no books on the great teams from the 1980s.

My goal is to bring back a neglected chapter in Nebraska’s storied history. I want to discuss the entire 1983 season — not just one game or one play. I want to honor a great team in Nebraska football history.

I would like to interview you for a book I plan to write on the 1983 Nebraska football team. I believe your insights and experience would add a lot to the historical record.

I have already completed a book on Robert Kennedy’s campaign in Nebraska in 1968. An excerpt was published in the Nebraska History magazine in its summer 2023 edition.

I have already interviewed Coach Osborne, Mike Rozier, Dean Steinkuhler, Mark Traynowicz, Harry Grimminger, Ricky Simmons, Bret Clark, Scott Raridon, Dave Burke, Mike Knox, Scott Strasburger, Tom Rathman, Mike McCashland, Mike Tranmer, Craig Sundberg, Shane Swanson, Rob Stuckey and Tom Morrow.

I am hopeful that you would agree to sit down for an interview with me about this important chapter in Nebraska football history.

Thank you very much for your kind and serious consideration of this matter.

Sincerely,

Dennis P. Crawford

402–890–2527

dennispcrawford@gmail.com

9600 Calvert Street

Lincoln, NE 68520

--

--

Dennis Crawford

I’m an aspiring historian, defender of democracy and a sports fan.