Nebraska Football’s Dark Age — 1941 to 1961

Dennis Crawford
Dec 23, 2023
Bobby Reynolds’ sensational 1950 season was the highlight of this era.

Nebraska football is currently going through a Dark Age. The Huskers are the only program that has failed to qualify for a bowl game the last seven seasons.

I’ve been doing some research on Nebraska football history. It has been worse.

Except for a pair of six win seasons in 1950 and 1954, Nebraska fans had to endure a 21 year losing streak between 1941–61.

From 1940–49, Nebraska’s record was 34–57.

From 1950–59, the Huskers went 39–58–3.

Nebraska coach Bill Jennings, who went 15–34–1 between 1957–61, said: “We can’t feed the ego of the state of Nebraska with the football team.”



Dennis Crawford

I’m an aspiring historian, defender of democracy and a sports fan.